Presidents of Liberia and their places of birth

Liberia is a country in West Africa which was founded, established, colonized, and controlled by citizens of the United States and ex-Caribbean slaves as a colony for former African American slaves and their free black descendants.

Who found Liberia?

Liberia is founded by Freed Slaves.
1821. The country of Liberia was founded in 1821 by former slaves from the United States of America because of the end of the transatlantic slave trade and the efforts of the American Colonization Society (ACS).

Who was Liberian capital named after?

James Monroe

Monrovia is named in honor of U.S. President James Monroe, a prominent supporter of the colonization of Liberia and the American Colonization Society. Along with Washington, D.C., it is one of two national capitals to be named after a U.S. President.

What is the meaning of Liberia?

Liberia definition. Republic in western Africa, bordered by Sierra Leone to the northwest, Guinea to the north, the Ivory Coast to the east, and the Atlantic Ocean to the southwest. Note: The American Colonization Society began settlement of black Americans, most of them freed slaves, in 1822.

What is the culture of Liberia?

Liberia is unique amongst African states in that it was founded by freed slaves from the American South, bringing with them their own culture and displacing ancient tribes who’d farmed the land and traded with European enclaves in West Africa for centuries.

Why was Liberia founded?

Although some freed American slaves did settle there, Liberia was founded by the American Colonization Society, a group of white Americans—including some slaveholders—that had what certainly can be described as mixed motives

Who colonized Liberia in 1822?

In 1822, the American Colonization Society began sending black volunteers to the Pepper Coast to establish a colony for freed blacks. By 1867, the ACS (and state-related chapters) had assisted in the migration of more than 13,000 blacks to Liberia.

What country colonized Liberia?

The American Colonization Society (ACS) was formed in 1817 to send free African-Americans to Africa as an alternative to emancipation in the United States. In 1822, the society established on the west coast of Africa a colony that in 1847 became the independent nation of Liberia.

Who was the first president of the Republic of Liberia?

Joseph Jenkins Roberts

Joseph Jenkins Roberts (1809–1876), a wealthy Monrovia merchant who had emigrated in 1829 from Petersburg, Virginia, became the first black ACS governor of Liberia in 1841. In 1848, he was elected the first president of an independent Liberia.

Why does Liberia have an American flag?

The Liberian flag bears a close resemblance to the flag of the United States, showing the freed American and ex-Caribbean slaves offspring and bloodline origins of the country. The Liberian flag has similar red and white stripes, as well as a blue square with a white star in the canton.

Joseph Jenkins Roberts – 1st President    1848-1856

 Born March 15, 1809, in Norfolk, Norfolk City, Virginia USA; Died in Monrovia on February 24, 1876.

Stephen Allen Benson – 2nd President  1856-1864

 Born May 21, 1816, in Cambridge, Maryland USA; Died in Grand Bassa County on January 24, 1865.


Daniel Bashiel Warner – 3rd President   1864-1868

 Born April 19, 1815 in Baltimore County, Maryland USA; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on December 1, 1880.

James Spriggs Payne – 4th President     1868-1870

 Born December 19, 1819 in Richmond, Virginia USA; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on January 31, 1882.


 Edward James Roye – 5th President   1870-Overthrown in 1871

 Born February 3, 1815, in Newark, Ohio USA; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on February 11, 1872.

James Skivring Smith, Jr.  – 6th President    1871-1872

 Born February 26, 1825, in Charleston, South Carolina USA; Died in Grand Bassa County, Liberia in 1892.


Joseph Jenkins Roberts – 7th President    1872-1876

 Born March 15, 1809, in Norfolk, Norfolk City, Virginia USA; Died in Monrovia on February 24, 1876.

James Spriggs Payne – 8th President  1876-1878

 Born December 19, 1819 in Richmond, Virginia USA; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on January 31, 1882.


Anthony William Gardiner – 9th President   1878-1883

 Born February 3, 1820, in Southampton County, Virginia USA; Died in Liberia in 1885.

Alfred Francis Russell – 10th President   1883-1884

Born August 25, 1817, in Lexington, Kentucky USA; Died in Monrovia, Liberia in 1884.



Hilary Richard Weight Johnson – 11th President    1884-1892

Born: June 1, 1837, in Monrovia, Liberia; Died in Monrovia, Liberia in 1901.

Joseph James Cheeseman – 12th President    1892-1896

 Born 1883 in Edina, Grand Bassa County, Liberia; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on November 12, 1896.

William David Coleman – 13th President   1896-1900

 Born July 18, 1842, in Fayette County, Kentucky USA; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on July 12, 1908.


 Garretson Wilmot Gibson – 14th President   1190-1904

 Born May 20, 1832, in Baltimore, Maryland USA; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on April 26, 1910.


Arthur Barclay – 15th President   1904-1912

 Born July 31, 1854, in Bridgetown, Barbados; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on July 10, 1938.

Daniel Edward Howard – 16th President    1912-1920

 Born August 4, 1861, in Buchanan, Liberia; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on July 9, 1935.


 Charles Dunbar Burgess King – 17th President    1920-1930

 Born March 10, 1875, in Monrovia, Liberia; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on September 4, 1961.


Edwin James Barclay – 18th President   1930-1944

 Born January 5, 1875, in Liberia; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on November 6, 1955.


William V S Tubman – 19th President  1944-1971

 Born November 29, 1895, in Harper, Maryland County, Liberia; Died in London, England on July 23, 1971.


William Richard Tolbert, Jr.  – 20th President   1971-1980

 Born May 13, 1913, in Bensonville, Liberia; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on April 12, 1980.

Samuel Kanyon Doe – 21st President   1980-1990  (First indigenous president of Liberia)

 Born May 6, 1951, in Tuzon, Grand Gedeh County, Liberia; Died in Monrovia, Liberia on September 9, 1990.

Charles McArthur Ghankay Taylor – 22nd President   1997-2003

 Born January 28, 1948, in Arthington, Montserrado County, Liberia; forced to resign on August 11, 2003.

Moses Zeh Blah – 23rd President  –August 11, 2003 – October 14, 2003 (second indigenous president)

 Born April 18, 1947, in Toweh Town, Nimba County, Liberia; left office October 14, 2003, died on April 1, 2013.

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf – 24th President  2006 – 2018

Born October 29, 1938, in Montserrado County, Monrovia, Liberia; Alive: (Age 2017 – 79).  First elected woman president of Liberia and Africa.   Globally considered as the most recognized and respected Liberian president, and the leader who led the most corrupt administration in Liberia’s history.

George Manneh Weah – 25th President    2018 – Present (Third indigenous president)

 Born October 1, 1966, in Clara town, Montserrado County, Monrovia, Liberia; Current President: (Age 2017 – 51)

Editor’s note:   ©2018Siahyonkron Nyanseor’s Archive



Show More

Siahyonkron Jglay-Kay Nyanseor

Elder Siahyonkron Nyanseor is an Eminent Person of the ULAA Council of Eminent Persons (UCEP), Inc. He is the historian of ULAA; one of its founding members and the 11th President (1986-1988) of the organization. Elder Nyanseor is an ordained Minister of the Gospel. Also, he is a poet, Griot, journalist, a cultural, social and political activist. He can be reached at: siah1947@gmail.com

Related Articles

Back to top button
Translate »
Subscribe To Globe Afrique

Subscribe To Globe Afrique

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This