Human RightsInternational Development

UN General Assembly elects 15 members-states into Human Rights Council

UNITED NATIONS, NEW YORK–– The UN General Assembly has elected fifteen countries into the United Nations Human Rights Council.

Afghanistan, Angola, Australia, Chile, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Mexico, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Qatar, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain, and Ukraine were elected in a vote on Monday,

The elected countries will serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2018.

Among the 15 outgoing members — Albania, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Botswana, the Republic of Congo, El Salvador, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Latvia, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Paraguay, Portugal, and Qatar — 11 members except for Botswana, the Republic of Congo, India and Indonesia were eligible for re-election. Nigeria and Qatar, which sought a second three-year term, succeeded in their bid.

The UN Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body responsible for fostering and protecting human rights around the world. Its 47 member-states are elected by secret ballot. A majority of 97 votes is needed for election.

Show More

Paul Stevens

Paul Stevens is a researcher, media issues analyst and senior contributor with Globe Afrique.
Back to top button
Translate »
Subscribe To Globe Afrique

Subscribe To Globe Afrique

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This